Woodland Hills car accident lawyer Barry P. Goldberg handles hundreds of car accident cases in any given year. About half of those accidents are either Uninsured or Underinsured. It is not surprising because about 4 million drivers—or 1 in 6— have suspended licenses. Therefore, they have no insurance. Most California drivers have no idea what will cause a license suspension. So— here are the 9 reasons that the DMV will suspend your license:
- IN A CAR ACCIDENT AND NO INSURANCE
If you are not insured and you get in an accident, your driver’s license will be suspended for four years. After one year, it may be returned if you provide proof of insurance to the DMV, and maintain it for the next three years.
- IN A CAR ACCIDENT AND FAIL TO REPORT IT TO THE DMV WITHIN 10 DAYS
Yes, you heard me. The DMV requires the filing of an SR-1 Form which identifies you and your insurance within 10 days of an accident. No excuses! You must file even if you were not at fault and you carried valid and current auto insurance.
- CONVICTED OF A DUI
California has some of the toughest DUI laws in the country, and your license will be suspended for 6 months upon your first conviction. You may petition for a restricted license in some cases. A 2nd and 3rd conviction and you will likely lose your license for 2 to 4 years.
- UNDERAGE DRINKING
You will lose your driver’s license for one year or until you turn 18, whichever is later.
- REFUSAL TO TAKE A DRUG OR ALCOHOL TEST
If you refuse a blood, breath, or urine test to avoid getting a DUI, your license will be suspended or revoked even if you’re innocent.
- BAD DRIVING!
If you get excessive points on your driving record, the DMV will put you on probation for one year, including a license suspension for six months, or revoke your driver’s license altogether.
Your driver’s license will be suspended for one year. If you are too young to drive, your right to apply for a driver’s license will be delayed by 1 year.
- FAILURE TO APPEAR FOR TRAFFIC TICKET
If you neither show up nor pay the fine on time, the court will report your failure to appear to the DMV, and your license will likely be suspended.
- FAILURE TO PAY CHILD SUPPORT. Family Code §17520.
If you are confused or uncertain about your reporting requirements, do not ignore the law and risk losing your license. Consult promptly with an experienced personal injury attorney right away.